The Boulevard, earlier was called Nichola's Boulevard (before 1919) and Feldman's Boulevard (before 1945), is situated on the end of the Odessa city plateau. It begins from the Dumskaya Square and ends near Vorontsov Palace. In 2008 during the reconstruction of the Boulevard the remains of Antique Greece settlement of 4-5th centuries B.C. were found. Since 1764 to the end of the 18th century there was Yeni Dünya (translated as New World, eng. "Yeni Dunya") - the Turkish fortress on the territory of the modern Primorsky Boulevard. From the 19th century The Boulevard looked out like "sea gates" because of The Potemkin Stairs, descending to the Sea Port. Above the stairs Duke de Richelieu Monument stands. Under the stairs Duke de Richelieu Monument stands. In the 1970th the sycamores and linden-trees were planted on the alleys of the Boulevard, where the chestnut trees and maples have been already beautifying it from the beginning of the 19th century. Nowadays these trees are illuminated by garlands of different colors, which shine every night.
Discover Ukraine with Odessa Private Tour Guides