On the 17th of July, 1855 St Innokenty (Borisov) on Sunday day put the first stone of a new three-throne Assumption Church. On the 13th of April, 1869 archbishop Dimitry (Muretov) of Kherson and Odessa sanctified the new Assumption church. The two-storeyed temple was mainly built from merchants Jacob and Nikolay Cherepennikov's funds, by a project of architect Otton. The height of temple (together with a bell tower) is 56 meters, capacity are 5000 persons. At the end of 19th century in the Holy Assumption cathedral Saint Iona Odessian served as a priest for three years. From 1932, after the Patriarch metropolitan Sergiy's benediction, the Holy Assumption Church became a Cathedral, because the former Transfiguration Cathedral was destroyed by the Soviet government. At the end of 30th the Cathedral was closed, as well as other temples in Odesa. In the war-time, the central dome and part of the temple building was destroyed, because of a fascist bomb. The lower temple of the Cathedral was recovered in 1942.
The main sacred object of the Holy Assumption Cathedral is the Miraculous icon of Mother of God from the village Kasperovo, brought at first to Odesa in 1854 from Kasperovo.
Discover Ukraine with Odessa Private Tour Guides